The New York Television Festival Announces Line-Up

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009

The New York Television Festival (NYTVF) today announced the lineup for its fifth anniversary Festival highlighted by its Primetime Series, which will host the premieres of ABC’s “Cougar Town,” “Modern Family” and “FlashForward”; FOX’s “The Cleveland Show”; NBC Universal’s “Short Cuts”; Television’s “Durham County”; and a special panel with the writers of CBS’ “Late Show with David Letterman .”

This year’s Festival will also feature the signature Independent Pilot Competition, the People’s Choice Award and the new Fox Television Studios’ “FtvS 15 Gigs of Fame” award. Daytime events and panels will include the NATPE Industry Day featuring keynote speakers Bonnie Hammer, President of NBC Universal Cable Entertainment and Universal Cable Productions; Rick Rosen, Head of Television, William Morris Endeavor Entertainment; and Rick Feldman, President and CEO of NATPE, as well as the Second annual Digital Day sponsored by Microsoft’s MSN.

“The fifth annual New York Television Festival promises to be our biggest and best event yet,” said NYTVF founder Terence Gray. “This milestone anniversary reinforces our belief that the independent television movement is not only here to stay, but also that it will play an increasingly influential role in serialized content development going forward.”

The fifth annual New York Television Festival will take place from September 21-26, 2009 at
the New World
Stages and the Times Center in Midtown Manhattan

Primetime Series

The NYTVF Primetime Series offers Festival audiences a sneak peek at the networks’ most highly anticipated fall premieres and an inside look into returning favorites on ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC, and ION Television. This year’s Festival will kick off at the Times Center in the New York Times building on Monday, September 21 with a red carpet premiere and exclusive preview of ABC’s fall comedies “Modern Family” starring Ed O’Neill, Julie Bowen, Ty Burrell, Sofia Vergara, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, and Eric Stonestreet; and “Cougar Town” starring Courteney Cox-Arquette, Busy Philipps, Christa Miller, Dan Byrd, Josh Hopkins, Ian Gomez, and Brian Van Holt. “Modern Family” and “Cougar Town” will premiere back on back on Wednesday, September 23 beginning at 9:00 PM ET/PT. ABC will also host a special screening of the exciting new drama “FlashForward” starring Joseph Fiennes, John Cho, Jack Davenport, Zachary Knighton, Peyton List, Dominic Monaghan, Brian F. O’Byrne, Courtney B. Vance, Sonya Walger, and Christine Woods at the new world Stages on Wednesday, September 23 prior to the show’s Thursday, September 24 premiere (8:00 PM ET/PT.)

Festival Passes and Tickets

All-Access Passes and Industry Packages are currently available at by selecting “Box Office.” The NYTVF is supported by sponsors including Procter & Gamble Productions, People’s Choice, MSN, and WME Entertainment. Official Network Sponsors for the 2009 NYTVF include ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC, and ION Television. The NYTVF works in conjunction with the Mayor’s Office of New York City. For tickets or more information on the NYTVF, please visit